BEWARE OF THIS SCAM TARGETING PHOTOGRAPHERS!

FELLOW PHOTOGRAPHERS! WE ARE BEING TARGETED IN A SCAM!

I’ve gotten two of these requests that I suspect were scams in the last week. The language they used is almost identical to what is written in the following article. The first one offered to pay travel to a location 2 hours from me and wanted 6 portraits after the event. Did not first ask for my availability for a certain day. Huh? Would a family reunion really revolve around the availability of an untried photographer? I said no to that one.  The second one sent an email from a completely different name, proposed the same thing (what is my availability, only 5 hours work, did I take credit cards, etc.). No mention of where he got my name. We communicated a little via text last night but I was about to eat dinner, so I called the number today. It was a Google Voice number but I could not understand anything being said as it sounded like it was in an underwater factory, and the person on the other end had such a thick foreign accent. He kept asking how I was doing–I got that part. Again, asked if I took credit cards. I said I could only take a cc through Paypal. He also provided me with an address where the event would take place. It is a 1 bedroom apartment! 40-50 people, portraits after, 5 hours of work (“only” 5 hours!). This is where I got suspicious (duh–finally) and Googled “scam seeking photographer for family reunion” and found this:

http://www.popphoto.com/beware-family-reunion-scam-thats-currently-targeting-photographers

One thought on “BEWARE OF THIS SCAM TARGETING PHOTOGRAPHERS!

  1. Update: I just got another one of these scam emails via my website email. The tip off is that (1) they ask YOU when you have time in [whatever month in is] to shoot a family event and (2) if you take credit cards. No information is give on where they are located, and the sender has a very “American” sounding name. And of course, if you reply that you do not take credit cards, that’s the end of it. Boy, wouldn’t that be great if the photographer got to schedule when a family should hold its reunion? As if!!

Leave a Reply

